1. Home
  2. Policy and research
  3. Australian curriculum in NSW
  4. Other Learning Areas
Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size

Other learning areas

New South Wales is working with the Australian Government and all other states and territories in a joint endeavour to develop an Australian curriculum. The Board of Studies NSW is responsible for advising the NSW Minister for Education on the appropriateness of curriculum for NSW schools and the structure and process of its implementation, including with regard to the Australian curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is coordinating the development of the Australian curriculum in three phases. Phase 1 curriculum development involves English, Mathematics, Science and History. Phase 2 curriculum development involves Geography, the Arts and Languages.

Phase 3 curriculum development involves Technologies, Health and Physical Education (HPE), Civics and Citizenship, and Economics and Business.

Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size