1. Home
Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size

NSW curriculum development

The Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW (BOSTES) is responsible for developing syllabuses to be taught in New South Wales schools, from Kindergarten through to Year 12.
BOSTES is committed to a syllabus development process that provides opportunities for consultation, establishes achievable timelines and ensures quality syllabuses.

Curriculum Projects

Following BOSTES established and consultative syllabus development process, the Curriculum and Assessment Standards Directorate currently lead a number of projects in the following areas:

Schools and teachers are assured that decisions about implementation of new syllabuses will only occur after extensive consultation.

Syllabus development process

The syllabus development process, using a project management approach, involves four phases:

  • Syllabus review
  • Writing brief development
  • Syllabus development
  • Implementation

Read more about the NSW syllabus development process.

Curriculum Framework

The K–10 Curriculum Framework establishes parameters for BOSTES curriculum for the compulsory years of schooling. It identifies the learning essential for all students and guides the evaluation and revision of individual syllabuses.

Statement of Values

BOSTES acknowledges the central role of education for intellectual, physical, social, moral and spiritual development. BOSTES Statement of Values was endorsed in 2010 and guides the development of syllabuses and other materials.

Examination specifications and assessment principals

In 2004, BOSTES developed a set of principles designed to assist syllabus writers in the development of internal assessment guidelines and examination specifications when developing or revising HSC courses.
Read more about the Principles for developing examination specifications and assessment guidelines.

Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size